Dharma Wellness Spa


What Are the Doshas?

Doshas are the 5 Elements that we all have within us; Ether, Air, Fire,
Water & Earth broken down into 3 Unique Catagories called Vata, Pitta &

Just as everyone has a unique fingerprint, each person has a particular
pattern of dosha energy. Everyone has their individual combination of
physical, mental, and emotional characteristics and this is what comprises
their own unique dosha constitution. This dosha constitution is determined
during an Ayurvedic Dosha Consultation.

Vata is the subtle energy associated with movement — composed of
Space and Air. It governs breathing, blinking, muscle and tissue movement,
pulsation of the heart, and all movements in the cytoplasm and cell
membranes. In balance, Vata promotes creativity and flexibility. Out of
balance, Vata produces fear and anxiety.

Pitta expresses as the body’s metabolic system — made up of Fire and
Water. It governs digestion, absorption, assimilation, nutrition, metabolism
, and body temperature. In balance, Pitta promotes understanding and
intelligence. Out of balance, Pitta arouses anger, hatred, and jealousy.

Kapha is the energy that forms the body’s structure — bones, muscles,
tendons — and provides the “glue” that holds the cells together, formed
from Earth and Water. Kapha supplies the water for all bodily parts and
systems. It lubricates joints, moisturizes the skin, and maintains immunity.
In balance, Kapha is expressed as love, calmness, and forgiveness. Out of
balance, it leads to attachment, greed, and envy.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *